MINUTES

September 30, 2020 University of Nebraska – Lincoln Academic Planning Committee

Members Present: Ankerson, Bloom, Buan, Clarke, Everhart, Gay, Geisinger, Hachtmann, Hebets, Latta Konecky, Maltas, Miller, Moberly, Rodene, Smith, Spiller, Tschetter, Wilhelm, Zeleny

Members Absent: Boehm,

Others Attending:

Note: These are not verbatim minutes. They are a summary of the discussions at the Academic Planning Committee meeting as corrected by those participating.

1.0 Call

Geisinger called the meeting to order at 3:06 p.m.

2.0 Projection Initiation Request for Law Library Renovation (Zeleny)

Zeleny reported that a PIR for renovating the Law Library has been received and he will convene the PIR subcommittee (Latta Konecky, Wilhelm, and Zeleny) to meet to review the proposal and report back to the APC.

3.0 Proposed Budget Cuts

- 3.1 Format of Zoom Session for Public Hearings
- 3.2 Dance Program Review (Bloom, Hachtmann, Hebets)
- 3.3 Textiles, Merchandising, and Fashion Design (Gay, Everhart, Clarke)

The APC went into a closed session to discuss the format of the Zoom sessions for the public hearings on the proposed budget cuts and the members of the APC who examined the proposed cuts for the Dance Program and the Textiles, Merchandising, and Fashion Design provided their findings and further questions that they felt needed to be answered.

4.0 Meeting with Dean O'Connor about Dance Program

The APC went into a closed session to get further clarification from Dean O'Connor about the criteria that was used in the decision to propose the elimination of the Dance program.

5.0 Meeting with Dean Jones, Dean Clutter, and Interim Dean Varner about Textiles, Merchandising, and Fashion Design

The APC went into a closed session to get further clarification from Dean Jones about the criteria that was used in the decision to propose the elimination of the Textiles, Merchandising, and Fashion Design program.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:07 p.m. The next meeting of the APC will be on Wednesday, October 7, 2020 at 3:00 by Zoom. The minutes are respectfully submitted by Karen Griffin, Coordinator.